Eater of Clouds, Eater of Continents

Greek37
I had to take a break from my large drawing.  There is a little sticking point that I need to think more about before I erase a hole in the paper.

One of the thing that is going well in the large drawing, directly carried over from the rivers of everything/nothing rabbit pictures, is that THE END OF ALL THINGS is conveniently located off page.  This is good because to give form to these things might seem weak or ineffectual.  However, as I have been drawing I realize that even if I try not to, I still sort of think of these things in somewhat human, or at least figurative terms.  There seems to be a disconnect between what I have drawn and what I can conceptualize.

So, while I am trying to hammer out my bands of color and bands of not color, I thought it might be a good idea jump right in and give form to THE END OF ALL THINGS, and I knew right where to turn.  I hope I have made no secret of my love for Ingri and Edgar Parin D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths. Its one of my favorites from childhood, and I can remember basing entire superhero teams on the illustrations.

I took a shot at Ladon mostly because he looks so cool.

Leave a Reply

