Design Distraction

Up Color

Some of my paintings seem to be illustrations, some decorative patterns, this one seems like an exercise in graphic design.  It was supposed to capture the fluttering motion of three birds in flight, but looks more like the cover of a third grade reader published in the early seventies.  This does not mean it is ugly, just that it could look equally nice, and equally important, on the side of a van.

Today is an unusual day for me because three of my paintings were rejected by a gallery because they were not matted, and while they said they liked the paintings and would take one of them if I matted it, they could not accept visible staple holes.

This might have been their way of letting me down easy, which is fine, however it does make me question my approach to watercolor painting.  I have always liked the rough edges and staple holes.  For me they demonstrate some aspect of the works creation and allow me to compose the work the way it will be seen.  Matting seems like it removes the viewer one step away from the physicalness of the piece.

Although I sort of feel like a stubborn jerk.

Leave a Reply

