Birdead Birdalive

Bird Dead Bird

How sad.  And of course I will now paint a dead fish or two.

The tiny sadness is not really what gets me excited about this picture.  I am interested in how small a gesture, the bird is upside down, it takes to establish a dead bird.  I find this to be sort of true in real life as well.  There is only a fine line between life and death, between the alive and the not alive.

Recently I read Susan Sontag’s wonderful book “Illness as Metaphor” where she explores the language surrounding disease.  This got me thinking about viruses and how, at least to me, there is not a lot of difference between them and something like sand.  Except it is a type of sand that can change our bodies to a kind of sand as well.

Leave a Reply

